Foot Anatomy

The foot is made up of more than 100 muscles, tendons and ligaments, 33 joints, 26 bones, and a network of nerves, blood vessels and other soft tissues. The foot is typically understood as divided into three parts: the forefoot, midfoot and hindfoot. The forefoot includes an individual’s toes and the bones attached to these toes (metatarsals). The midfoot is the collection of bones that form the arches of an individual’s feet. The hindfoot comprises the heel and ankle.


Copyright 2021
Canadian Federation of Podiatric Medicine

3390 South Service Road, Suite 305

Burlington, ON L7N 3J5
Ph: (905) 331-5227

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software